INBRE Administration

Jun Ren
Director INBRE
Associate Dean for Research & Professor of Pharmacology 
(307) 766-6131

William A. Gern
Vice President for Research and Economic Development 
Chair, Wyoming EPSCoR/IDEA
Room 305 Old Main | (307) 766-5353

Robert "Scott" Seville
INBRE Program Coordinator and Outreach Core Director
Associate Dean in the Outreach School;Professor of Zoology and Physiology
UW/CC, Wold Physical Science Center 313 | (307) 268-2543

Seville Lab

Heywood Sawyer
INBRE Associate Program Coordinator
Medical Education and Public Health
(307) 766-6751

David Liberles
INBRE Bioinformatics Core Director
Associate Professor of Molecular Biology
(307) 766-5206

INBRE External Advisory Committee

The External Advisory Committee (EAC)  consists of six prominent scientists. Responsibilities of this committee include preparation and submission of written critiques of scientific progress of the Wyoming INBRE, as well as progress and activities of each of the three mandatory cores (Administrative, Bioinformatics, and Outreach) to the PI and VP of Research & Economic Development. As in the past this committee will continue to have major input into programmatic issues and assessment/evaluation. In addition, the EAC will review and approve candidates for additional (or replacement) projects, mentors, and investigators as required before such requests are forwarded to NCRR for administrative confirmation and approval. The EAC will meet at least twice per year. Wyoming INBRE accomplishes the stated goals of the program.

Current EAC Members

Dr. John Sladek is the current Chair of the INBRE EAC. He is a Professor in the Program in Neurobiology, Department of Pediatrics, at the University of Colorado School of Medicine in Denver, CO. His laboratory has been at the forefront of research for therapeutic approaches for neurological disorders such as Parkinson's disease and more recently, Down syndrome. Much of their earlier work detailed the precise chemical neuroanatomy of the mammalian brain including key systems in the non-human primate. His laboratory also developed histochemical approaches for the simultaneous localization of monoamine and peptide neurons and stUdied their relationship during neural development and aging. His research has been continuously funded through extramural resources since 1971 including a number of NIH grants and 3 current ROl awards. He has held several editorial positions including serving as the Editor- in-Chief for Experimental Neurology, Editor for Cell Tissue and Research, and Section Editor for Cell Transplantation. Dr. Sladek has also held a number of administrative positions including Chair of the Department of Neuroscience at The Chicago Medical School, Vice Chancellor for Research at the UC at Denver Health Sciences Center, and President and CEO at California Lutheran University.

Dr. Thomas Gorell is a scientist who has assumed administrative roles in managing the Life Sciences Program at Colorado State University in the late 1980's. One of the goals of the Wyoming INBRE is to enhance opportunities for undergraduates to actively participate in biomedical research. In this regard, Dr. Gorell served as the Director for the Center of Life Sciences from 1997-2002 and managed the Howard Hughes Institute for Undergraduate Biological Sciences Education that was awarded to Colorado State University. He has extensive experience in outreach and other programs designed to get undergraduates interested in life sciences. Dr. Gorell currently holds the position of Associate VP for Administrative Services at Colorado State University. He provided valuable input as an EAC member for INBRE-1, and will continue to do so for INBRE-2.

Dr. Russell Moore is a Professor of Integrative Physiology at University of Colorado Boulder. He served as the Chair of Department of Kinesiology & Applied Physiology between 1994 and 2001. Since 2006, Dr. Moore has taken the role of Associate Vice Chancellor for Research. Dr. Moore maintains an active NIH- funded research program and has authored more than 90 research publications in the field of cardiovascular diseases. He is a long time member of a number of grant review panels (federal and private). He is also an Associate Editor for "Journal of Applied Physiology". Dr. Moore will provide a wealth of expertise in the areas of cardiovascular disease and exercise physiology in addition to his experience in research administration.

Dr. David Pollock is Director of the Consortium for Comparative Genomics and Associate Professor, Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics and Computational Bioscience at the University of Colorado School of Medicine.

Dr. Doug Seals is a Professor of Integrative Physiology at University of Colorado Boulder. He is a senior investigator whose laboratory studies the influence of aging on cardiovascular function and the risk of cardiovascular disease, and the efficacy of interventions that can prevent cardiovascular aging. Dr. Seals has extensive experience in clinical and translational research in human subjects. He currently holds a MERIT award and 4 ROl awards from the National Institute on Aging. Dr. He currently serves on the Aging and Systems Geriatrics NIH study section, as well as an Associate Editor for the "Journal of Applied Physiology". Dr. Seals will bring expertise in the area of human cardiovascular research.

Dr. George Seidel is a Colorado State University Distinguished Professor. He is also a member of the National Academy of Science and is known internationally for his pioneering breakthroughs in the area of animal reproduction, specifically sexing sperm, in vitro fertilization and embryonic development, cryopreservation of embryos, and microsurgical procedures with embryos, including transgenesis and cloning. During the past 40 years, Dr. Seidel has had numerous postdoctoral fellows, graduate students, and visiting scientists in his laboratory. He brings a number of strengths to the committee, not only critical thinking related to scientific projects, but also a sincere interest in training outstanding scientists. Dr. Seidel’s background is such that he can contribute in the overall assessment and evaluation of individual research projects, project investigators, and project mentors.

Dr. Clarann Weinert is a Professor of Nursing at Montana State University. Her credentials are impressive, and she brings a wealth of experience in the area of community-based research. For more than 25 years she has maintained a funded program of research on the management of chronic illness which currently includes: use of computers as a means for providing support and health information to isolated rural woman, use of complementary therapy by rural residents, and impact of spirituality on chronic illness family strategies for caring for Native American elders spirituality and suicide. Dr. Weinert is widely published in social support, rural health/theory, and chronic illness management. She served on the INBRE-1 EAC and has been a mentor for the clinical outcomes research projects in INBRE-1. She will continue to provide critical insight and guidance in the development of the community-based participatory research work.

Find us on Facebook
Follow Us
Watch us on Youtube!