Wyoming Undergraduate Research Day Scheduled May 2, 2015

Wyoming Undergraduate Research Day is scheduled for May 2, 2015 in Laramie on the University campus.  For visiting community college faculty and students Wyoming INBRE will arrange tours on Friday, a welcome pizza reception Friday evening, and the Annual INBRE Brunch Saturday morning. Additional information will be posted as it becomes availalbe. 

NIH Issues Tips for Applicants From the NIH Center for Scientific Review

The NIH Center for Scientific Review (CSR) recently posted and updated several resources to help the community understand more about the peer review process.

Their CSR's Insider's Guide to Peer Review is now updated with new advice on how to produce a highly competitive grant application. These tips, collected from current and former chairs of review study sections, are valuable to both new and established applicants alike.

Additionally, CSR has posted recordings of their Meet the Experts in NIH Peer Review webinar series for new applicants, each focusing on a different type of funding program: Research Project Grants (primarily focusing on the R01), Academic Research Enhancement Awards (AREA/R15s), fellowship awards, and small business grants (SBIR/STTR).

CSR is the portal for receipt and referral of NIH grant applications, and, for the majority of those applications, handles their review for scientific and technical merit. Stay on top of news from CSR by reading more in their Peer Review Notes update.

- See more at:

Tips for Applicants From the NIH Center for Scientific Review



Wyoming INBRE Bioinformatics Core Awards Six Travel Grants

The Wyoming INBRE Bioinformatics Core has awarded 6 travel grants to support travel of faculty and graduate students to bioinformatics-related conferences and workshops. Awardees and their departments include: Eric Atkinson, Northwest College; Robert Baker, UW Botany, Mark Brock, UW Botany; Jeffrey Chandler, UW Animal Sciences; Kyle Palmquist, UW Botany, and Anna Zajacova, UW Sociology. More Information.

Proposals requested for Wyoming INBRE Bioinformatics Training Travel Grant Program

The NIH NIGMS-funded Wyoming IDeA Networks for Biomedical Research Excellence (INBRE) Program requests proposals from University of Wyoming and Wyoming community college faculty and researchers to the Wyoming INBRE Bioinformatics Training Travel Grant Program. The immediate goal of this program is to support the travel costs associated with participation in formal bioinformatics training events (workshops, short courses). The longer-term objective of the program is to enhance the bioinformatics expertise of Wyoming researchers and educators, as a contribution towards furthering the goals of Wyoming INBRE. Faculty, graduate students, postdoctoral fellows, and other research personnel are encouraged to apply. Applications are due by 5pm on December 31, 2014. Click for Application Materials

Wy INBRE Awards 14 Research Assistantships for Spring and Fall 2015

Wyoming INBRE has awarded 14 Graduate Reserach Assistantships to UW faculty conducting biomedical-related research. RA recipients include: Franco Basile (Chemistry), Brian Cherrington (Zoology and Physiology), Amy Navratil (Zoology and Physiology), Qian Quan Sun (Zoology and Physiology), and Krisztina Varga (Chemistry) from the College of Arts and Sciences; Domen Novak (Electrical & Computer Engineering), Patrick Johnson (Chemical and Petroleum Engineering), Maciej Radosz (Chemical and Petroleum Engineering), and Carl Frick (Mechanical Engineering) from the College of Engineering and Applied Sciences; David Fay (Molecular Biology), Daniel Levy (Molecular Biology), Wei Guo (Animal Sciences, Anna Lyuksyutova (Molecular Biology) from the College of Agriculture and Natural Sciences; and Sreejayan Nair from the School of Pharmacy. The graduate research assistantship provides a GA stipend, tuition, fees and health insurance for the supported student. 

More Articles...

Page 1 of 4

<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 Next > End >>
Find us on Facebook
Follow Us
Watch us on Youtube!